Tags

, , , , ,

I don’t have any medical updates, I had three things sliced off at the dermatologist last Thursday and the resident asked me how I was keeping up filing the scales off my feet. Glamorous.  I’m waiting on pathology reports for those and I’m on a new beta blocker to control my heart rate.

I don’t know what my betas are, or why they need to be blocked, but it makes me sleepy as I get used to it.  Also, no CT results yet (and no phone call, so I must not be lighting up like a Christmas Tree).  I see the doc next Monday to discuss and talk about the new plan for Yervoy.  For now, I’m still on the Zelboraf but feeling great.

The beta blocker is much like the evil anti-nausea medicine in the spring which had no respect for the front bumper of my big SUV, so please be patient in the school drop off line as my three clowns clamber out of the Mini Cooper with their lunches, back packs,  PE clothes and sports attire.  Believe me, they are not amused either.  Fortunately we tend to procrastinate on car repairs.  I am a public menace. Less so in a vehicle half the size.

Sometimes you have to shout at me to get my attention. My mind wanders, especially when I’m driving. That’s how I end up in situations where the older two are shouting “Mom, MOM!” and I realize the youngest is repeating over and over “Wham, Bam, Thank You Maam”. Thank you, satellite radio.

Dear God,

I really wish You would shout at someone else because even though I need to  hear it, as You know, I’m a very private person and it’s difficult for me to blog it out.  Plus, people will think I’m nuts.

Amy

Friday I represented the MRF at a “walk fair” at Vanderbilt where employees could find out about the fall cancer walks Vandy is helping sponsor.  I was hiding behind my laptop because I’d sunburned my arms at the cross-country meet the day before, despite being out only an hour, using heavy sunscreen and using an umbrella for shade (yes – the same day I had stuff burned and sliced off). Brilliant.

At the table next to me was an inspiring lung cancer warrior Teri Simon.  If you want to, you can check out her blog here –> http://flyingelephantbook.wordpress.com/

I found her when I was trying to get into that last clinical trial, Anti-PDL1, and we had been emailing.  She mentioned the trial and how she was still trying to battle back from the aggressive tumor growth it had caused.

“See”, He said, “I got your back!” If I’d had aggressive tumor growth in my heart, well, I’ll let you fill in the blank.

As I reluctantly plodded in at 7:45 on Sunday morning for my CT scan along with some other pitiful folks with flowers and other hospital visiting debris, I saw this taped to a pole.

“For I know the plans I have for you” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future” – Jeremiah 29:11

As I read it I first thought about being cured, but then also there is a different kind of future we can all have, and it is even better.  Hope and a future, yes I would love that.  Thank you.  And thank you guerrilla scripture distributor.

After the scan I did went to the grocery, then a soccer game.  Doesn’t everyone? Unfortunately I missed #2’s goal during the game as a result of the 76 extra glasses of water I drank to flush the radioactive tracer out of my system. Rats. At least I was there.

I made dinner for later and by 5:30 I had to pull myself up out of my sticky pillow drool for mass with my family.  The reading was about how Jesus healed the deaf mute and how we all need to be open to Him, His healing, His word (Mark 7:31-37) and darn if Fr. Dexter didn’t call people forward for anointing of the sick afterwards. He was going to stand there talking until he got a customer.  No one was getting up and you could hear a pin drop. Kids 1 & 2 were staring at me and Alan would’ve shoved me, had he been closer. I was cringing, NOT wanting to get up in front of all these people when all of a sudden the man NEXT to me gets up.  Crappola!! What are the chances??

“How can I make this any easier for you?”

So I followed him up to the front and received my blessing, was forgiven, and it was awesome.  I don’t know how long the forgiveness lasted though because my kids started fighting over who would read the scripture homework 30 minutes later. Fighting over the Bible people.

A year ago I refused to get up for the anointing.  I regretted that I chickened out – I was between surgery and radiation.  The next day the priest from school Fr. O’Neill called, introduced himself, and said he heard my story, wanted to come to our house and anoint me.  At least this time I saved Fr. O’Neill a house call.  I’ve been anointed three times, each year I’ve been battling.  Maybe there is something to it…

Be Not Afraid – Bob Dufford

If you pass through raging waters,In the sea you shall not drown.

If you walk amid the burning flames, You shall not be harmed.

If you stand before the power of hell, And death is at your side.

Know that I am with you through it all.

Be not afraid.

I go before you always. Come follow Me.

And I will give you rest.

Peace to you all – Amy

